#### Safety

Workers are an employer's most valuable asset. Accident prevention methods are worth putting in place because they help protect workers and save money. When accidents occur, employers lose the productivity of the injured worker and incur administrative costs. In addition, insurance premiums rise. Training replacement employees adds additional costs. When accidents are prevented, these costs are avoided and the organization improves.

#### The WCA's Role in Reducing Costs Through Safety

The WCA's staff of safety consultants can provide free safety services at the workplace. Assistance can include safety materials, consultations and safety inspections. Contact the nearest WCA office for information. The WCA publishes two booklets devoted to safety. Both booklets can be downloaded from the WCA website:

#### **Annual Safety Inspections Guide**

- Designed to help businesses implement their own simple safety inspection
- Describes acceptable WCA standards for safety inspection
- Good for smaller businesses not required to have safety inspections but looking for a safety program

#### **How to Develop a Safety Program Guide**

 Guides business owners and managers on comprehensive safety planning



#### **Safety Devices**

If employers fail to provide a safety device that is required by law or commonly used in the industry, the injured worker's disability benefits can be increased by 10 percent. If an employer provides a safety device and a worker fails to use it, the disability benefits can be decreased by 10 percent.



# New Mexico Workers' Compensation Administration

## Main Office Mailing Address:

PO Box 27198 Albuquerque, NM 87125-7198 Location: 2410 Centre SE (Near Yale and Gibson) In-state toll-free phone: 1-800-255-7965 Local phone: 841-6000

#### **Regional Offices**

Call the nearest regional office to reach the Ombudsman and Safety programs, and for forms and publications.

#### **Farmington**

2700 Farmington Avenue, Bldg. E, Ste. 2 Farmington, NM 87401 Phone: 505-599-9746 In-state toll-free phone: 1-800-568-7310

#### **Hobbs**

2120 North Alto, Unit 3 Hobbs, NM 88240 Phone: 575-397-3425 In-state toll-free phone: 1-800-934-2450

#### **Las Cruces**

2407 W. Picacho, Suite D Las Cruces, NM 88007 Phone: 575-524-6246 In-state toll-free: 1-800-870-6826

#### **Las Vegas**

32 NM 65 Las Vegas, NM 87701 Phone: 505-454-9251 In-state toll-free phone: 1-800-281-7889

#### **Roswell**

Penn Plaza Building 400 N. Pennsylvania Ave., Ste. 425 Roswell, NM 88201 Phone: 575-623-3997 In-state toll-free phone: 1-866-311-8587

#### Santa Fe

Aspen Plaza Building 1596 Pacheco St., Ste. 202 Santa Fe, NM 87505 Phone: 505-476-7381

Help & Hotline 1-866-WORKOMP 1-866-967-5667 https://workerscomp.nm.gov







## **State of New Mexico**



# Workers' Compensation



### **SAFETY PROGRAM**



ONE TEAM | ONE GOAL

A Better New Mexico for Workers and Employers

#### **Why Safety?**

Safety is a priority in any workplace. Strong safety standards help prevent accidents. Keeping accidents at a minimum helps keep insurance costs down and makes for a more productive workplace.

Every business should have emergency preparations in place. For example, employees should know the locations of nearby emergency or urgent care facilities and how to contact local emergency services. This is especially important for businesses that have workers off-site or in changing locations.

# **Annual Safety Inspections**

New Mexico workers' compensation law requires employers to perform or receive

an annual safety inspection as the first step toward eliminating workplace hazards. Inspections are required if:

- The annual workers' compensation insurance premium is \$15,000 or more.
- The business is a certified self-insurer or a member of a certified self-insured group.

Businesses notified by the WCA to provide proof of the annual safety inspection have 30 days to respond to the notice. The required inspection can be accomplished by:

- A WCA safety consultant, at no charge
- A senior manager or dedicated safety professional employed by the business
- A safety professional from the insurance company when requested by the business.
- A professional independent safety consultant.

Businesses that decide to self-inspect are encouraged to consult with the WCA so a safety consultant can help them create a checklist, explain the safety inspection process, and teach them what to look for when conducting inspections.

#### **Proof of Safety Inspections**

Under the Workers' Compensation Rules, employers required to have an annual inspection must submit proof of the inspection to the WCA within 60 days of policy issuance or renewal. Generally, this inspection must be a complete inspection of all the employer's facilities in New Mexico. If the WCA does not receive proof of an annual inspection within 60 days, a notification letter will be sent to the business noting the affidavit was not received.

Proof of inspection should be made by using any one of the following methods:

- Your insurer or self-insurance program may notify the WCA that it has completed the annual inspection. The notification should include the business name, address, FEIN (federal employer identification number) and date of inspection.
- Complete the safety affidavit found on the WCA website, and mail it to the WCA. The affidavit must be signed.
- Proof of inspections should be sent to the safety consultant at your regional WCA field office. (see back for location information).



## What Can I Do to Improve the Safety of My Employees?

The first step is an inspection. It is important to know the extent of the risks and hazards that your employees face on a daily basis. With this in mind, the next steps include reducing those hazards and risks through training, work flow design, individual awareness, and most of all, supervisory and managerial staff taking an active role.

#### **Risk Reduction Program**

The WCA is committed to helping employers identify and eliminate occupational hazards in order to prevent workplace accidents. To assist in reducing workplace hazards, the WCA provides an in-depth Risk Reduction Program (RRP) for employers with a higher than average accident frequency for their industry, or if a safety audit reveals a need for assistance.

The WCA's Safety Program Manager identifies and enrolls companies into the RRP. The program requires:

- Employers and insurers to be notified by letter.
- Consultation with a WCA safety consultant within 30 days of notification. An inspection of your facilities in New Mexico must be completed before the consultation.
- Participants will include the business owner/manager, and insurance company representative, if desired.
- The business will then develop an action plan to address all issues raised in the consultation.
- A follow-up review evaluates plan effectiveness.

Employers who have received a notice of classification for this program have five working days to file a written request for reconsideration with the WCA director. The director may hold hearings upon a request for reconsideration and make a determination as appropriate.

