Workers’ Compensation Administration

The mission of the Workers’ Compensation
Administration (WCA) is to assure the quick and
efficient delivery of benefits to injured workers
at a reasonable cost to the employer.

What is Workers’ Compensation?

Workers’ compensation provides a standardized
solution for what to do when a worker is injured on
the job. It's a system of insurance that protects workers
and employers from some of the losses caused by
on-the-job accidents and job-related illnesses.

Workers’ Compensation Insurance Provides:

Medical care.

Required care resulting
from a work-related injury
orillness is paid for at no
expense to the worker.

If aworker isinjuredina
work-related accident, the
employer/insurer must
pay all reasonable and
necessary medical costs.

Indemnity benefits.
Injured workers may
receive temporary
indemnity benefits if
they are unable to work
and earn a paycheck.
Payments keep the
injured worker and the
worker’s family minimally
financially secure while
the worker is unable to
return to the job. The

benefits generally remain
until the worker’s medical
condition becomes stable
or the worker returns to
work.

Depending on the

type of injury and its
severity, benefits can be
extended if the worker

is permanently totally
disabled or otherwise has
a permanent impairment.

Uninsured Employers’ Fund

Created in 2003, the Uninsured Employers’ Fund
(UEF) provides a source of medical and indemnity
benefits for injured workers whose employers were
illegally uninsured. The UEF seeks reimbursement
from employers for benefits it pays to the injured
worker and also seeks penalties against the

uninsured employer.

New Mexico Workers’
Compensation Administration

Main Office

Mailing Address: Las Cruces

PO Box 27198 2407 W. Picacho, Ste. D
Albuquerque, NM 87125- Las Cruces, NM 88007
7198 Phone: 575-524-6246

In-state toll-free:
1-800-870-6826

Location: 2410 Centre SE
(Near Yale and Gibson)
In-state toll-free phone:
1-800-255-7965

Local phone: 841-6000

Las Vegas

32 NM 65

Las Vegas, NM 87701
Phone: 505-454-9251
In-state toll-free phone:
1-800-281-7889

Regional Offices

Call the nearest regional
office to reach the
Ombudsman and Safety
programs, and for forms
and publications.

Roswell
Penn Plaza Building

400 N. Pennsylvania Ave.,

Farmington Ste. 425
2700 Farmington Ave., Roswell, NM 88201
Bldg. E, Ste. 2 Phone: 575-623-3997

Farmington, NM 87401
Phone: 505-599-9746
In-state toll-free phone:
1-800-568-7310

In-state toll-free phone:
1-866-311-8587

Santa Fe

Aspen Plaza Building
Hobbs

2120 North Alto, Unit 3
Hobbs, NM 88240
Phone: 575-397-3425
In-state toll-free phone:
1-800-934-2450

Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: 505-476-7381

Help & Hotline
1-866-WORKOMP
1-866-967-5667
https://workerscomp.nm.gov
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Employers
Workers’ compensation insurance is required for:

An employer with three or more workers.

Any business engaged in activities that are
licensed under the provisions of the Construction
Industries Licensing Act (CILA) must carry workers'’
compensation insurance, regardless of the number
of employees.

Only real estate sales people and private domestic
servants are exempt.

Employers who fall under the New Mexico Workers’
Compensation Act are required to pay a quarterly fee
to the Taxation and Revenue Department. The fee is
$4.30 per employee per quarter, $2 of which is paid
by the worker. The fee is not part of your insurance
payment.

Employer Responsibilities

Employers who are required by law to have workers’
compensation insurance must find it from a commercial
carrier or be self-insured in a group, pool or single
employer plan. Self-insured companies must meet
stringent fiscal requirements and are usually large
businesses, school districts, and governmental entities.
A business may self-insure with approval from the WCA.

Employers are required by law to post the Workers’
Compensation Act poster and Notice of Accident
forms together in a conspicuous location where
employees have access to them. These items are
provided free by the WCA, and are available online or at
any WCA office. The Notice of Accident forms serve as
the official form for an employee to report an accident
or alleged accident. No written notice is required if the
employer had actual knowledge of its occurrence.

Health Care Provider Selection

The employer should decide on whether first choice of
a healthcare provider is made by the employer or by the
employee. Employers must notify the worker in writing
on who is making the initial selection.

Establish a Drug- and Alcohol-Free Workplace Policy
For employers who have and follow a written drug-

and alcohol-free workplace policy, indemnity benefits
can be reduced (10%-90%) proportional to the degree
a worker’s intoxication contributed to the incident.
Employers must inform workers of the policy.

Ombudsman Program

The ombudsman program provides a neutral source of
information for workers, employers and any other party.
Ombudsmen are specialists in the area of workers’
compensation claims, and can explain how the system
works. Ombudsmen are also available for free trainings.
Call any WCA office to be connected to an ombudsman.

Ombudsmen also help resolve many kinds of disputes,
without the need for litigation; however, ombudsmen are
not attorneys, and they cannot assist anyone represented
by an attorney.

Safety

Workers are an employer’s most valuable asset. Accident
prevention methods are worth putting in place because
they help protect workers and save money.

When accidents occur, employers lose the productivity
of the injured worker and incur administrative costs. In
addition, insurance premiums rise. Training replacement
employees adds additional costs. When accidents are

prevented, these
costs are avoided.

Safety Inspections
Workers'
compensation

law requires every
employer to receive
an approved annual
safety inspection if
the employer has an annual insurance premium of $15,000
or more, or is a certified self-insurer.

The safety inspection can be performed by:
- any qualified safety consultant
« aWCA safety consultant (free of charge)
«  employer, via self-inspection
« theinsurer or self-insurance program.

An insurer is required by law to provide the safety
inspection if it is requested.

Employees
Workers’ compensation is a system designed to quickly
provide benefits to injured workers.

With workers’ compensation, a worker accepts limits on
the amount of money that can be recovered from an
injury, no matter how serious or who was at fault. The
worker is generally barred from suing the employer for
an accidental or work-related injury. In return, the worker
is provided prompt, necessary medical care.

Employee Responsibilities:

- If you see an unsafe work practice, report it.

« Bedrug and alcohol free.

- Ifan accident occurs, fill out a Notice of Accident
Form.

« Notify your employer of the accident.

+ Check with your employer before getting medical
care (except emergency care). Your employer has
the right to choose a doctor or to allow you to
choose.

«  When seeking medical care for your work-related
injury, disclose that your injury occurred on the job.

« Update the adjuster and employer on restrictions
or work status.

Dispute Resolution/Adjudication
The WCA has its own administrative court with
administrative law judges to hear disputed claims.

When a complaint concerning benefits is filed at the
court, parties are referred to a mediation conference first.
If mediation does not settle the dispute, a formal trial
before a WCA administrative judge can be scheduled.

The majority of filed complaints are settled through the
mediation process.



